I have Found Me A Home

Well, it’s officially that time of year again. The sweet sounds of big bore V-twin road bikes, and one lung dirt bikes are being replaced by the high pitched sound of two-stroke snowmobiles. The morning sound of the birds singing in the trees replaced by sounds of snow blowers, and plows scraping. The sweet aroma of backyard barbecues are gone, making way for the wonderful (at least to some of us), fragrance of oak, maple, and other hardwoods coming from chimneys. All that was green, then red, yellow, and orange, is now white.  Opening day of rifle season has come and gone, people are still out there hunting, but not the big story anymore.                                                                                                       Now we are getting our focus on the Holidays. Christmas decorations are starting to be seen, little Christmas music on the radio, lots of Christmas recipes being put on Facebook and the like. It truly is a great time of year.  This week had something else though. Thanksgiving. That one day of the year when we are supposed to give thanks for what we have. Not that we shouldn’t do that everyday, this is a day set aside to specifically to do just that, remind us that we all have something to be thankful for. I read, and listen to all the responses of folks when asked what it is that they give thanks for. Family, friends, health, food,..All  great things to be thankful for, and I agree. But I also read other things that show me I have something many apparently don’t have. A place I want to be. All the time. A town I love being in, a region where I really don’t have any reason to leave.                 One of the subjects I enjoy reading is the travel blogs. It is kind of interesting seeing all the beautiful pictures of the faraway places. Once in awhile I come across a story or a picture of somewhere I have been it brings back memories.  The diving and sailing in the Caribbean, the motorcycling over the Continental Divide, & so many others.                             What it really drives home to me though is how lucky I am that I live in a place now that I really don’t care about traveling from.  Where once I found myself looking for somewhere to go to “get away from it all”, now I just look around at all the beautiful things we have here in Antrim County, Mi. and think, why would I want to go anywhere? Sure a dive trip to Cozumel in Feb. or March always sounds good, or just anywhere warm, but usually some local event in our small community of Central Lake comes up, and sounds even better.           I guess after all is said and done, I have found that being with true friends doing things like going to watch school kids put on their Spring program somehow trumps a week in the warmth of the little latitudes.  I spent more years than I like to admit searching for that rainbow, traveling and moving around, and I’m glad I got to see most of what I did see.    My only regret is that I didn’t discover this place sooner.

Click on Picture below for more information:

central lake winter sunset

About markdouglas2013

Just enjoying life in one of best places on earth, hoping to introduce those that haven't experienced this part of the world to what makes this area so special.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

